The Convoy Mission Continues

My Irish ancestry heralds back to the Ó Muircheartaigh clan. The English version of the name is Moriarty which translates as “navigator”.

So it’s not surprising that I pride myself on my ability to follow a map and chart a course while calmly communicating it to my fellow travelers. I gravitate to the job…obviously it’s in my DNA.

My background as an asphalt paving dispatcher (asphalt paving being a process that is effected by cold temperatures and precipitation), keeps me keenly in tune with weather. Before and during a project, I’ve been known to analyze three or more different weather sources. I’ve even texted our foreman saying: finish up with the paving! rain is coming in twenty-seven minutes!

But alas, on this trip with my husband and our new trailer on our way to join The People’s Convoy and then travel across the United States in an effort to bring attention to what we – a large swath of the population – see as an infringement upon the rights of the citizens…on this grand adventure, sadly, both skills have failed me.

Was I too giddy with the idea of a noble protest? Too preoccupied with the workings of a slick hotel room on wheels? Distracted by the mountain of junky, road-trip snacks that I was surrounded by?

Perhaps.

But then there is the sheer power of mother nature. Ice, snow, sleet… surely I can’t control the weather. But, I do know my seasons – we should have been more prepared. Ugh. I also blame Siri and Google for their inattentiveness to the entire situation.

Oregon Snow Cuz It’s Winter Silly Goose!

But now I’m getting refocused: finding better weather sources and working closer with my driver to attune the route to his needs: I now know that he can drive longer if he has a good break and stretch every two hours. I know I must force him to take Tylenol if his back gets sore. And if he asks for the last Pepperidge Farm Milano cookie, I don’t hide it and say they’re all gone – I give it to him.

I’ve devised a two day itinerary that enables us to catch up to the convoy in Lupton, Arizona on Thursday, 02/24. There will be winter weather conditions along the route, especially through Northern Arizona. We picked up chains. We are ready.

I’ll leave you tonight with my favorite quote from my favorite liberal biologist, Heather Heying: NOT this vaccine. NOT this pandemic. NOT this administration.

Published by

Head Scullery Maid

I love to cook hence my plethora of dirty dishes. Although I don't have one, I do believe that there is a right and wrong way to load a dishwasher.

One thought on “The Convoy Mission Continues”

  1. There is a bad snow storm in northern AZ now and tomorrow. Down here in the valley we have 58’ and rain and a very cold wind. But you really have cold. Safe travels and enjoy the beautiful country we call home

Leave a comment